Did you hear we had a food swap?

by Heather Roszczyk, market assistant

So, in case you missed it (in every email/tweet/Facebook post of the last two weeks) we hosted a food swap this week.  It was our first, and to say that we were excited for the event is the understatement of the year.  I first learned about the food swap trend from this lovely blogger, and was overjoyed when we got the green light to organize one of our own.  The coasts shouldn’t have all the fun.

In the weeks leading up to the swap, I and my similarly nerdy co-workers Beth and Erin bounced swap ideas off one another almost daily.  A devoted drinker of Manhattans, I’d recently given homemade sweet vermouth a try and was pleased enough with the outcome to quickly settle on that as my contribution.  But that certitude didn’t keep the middle-school-style nerves away in the final hours before the swap.  The vermouth (confession!) didn’t turn out as good as my first batch – would people still like it?  Does anyone else know what to do with sweet vermouth?  What if no one wanted to trade with me?!

Okay, I’m not just saying this because I work for the organization that put on this thing – it was really fun.  I came home with a boatload of deliciousness, my pantry now looks adorable, and I have pork jowl in my freezer and flavored butter in my refrigerator.  My twelve bottles were gone within the first 10 minutes or so of trading (tip: people love alcohol).  But regardless of whether or not that was the case, it was fantastic being crammed in there (yes, we’re getting a larger space) with that many food-loving, DIYing folks.

If this sounds even remotely interesting to you, I hope you’ll join us next month.  The best part about the whole thing is that there are relatively few rules – it’s mostly up to you.  If making twelve bottles of something is overwhelming, bring three.  If cute packaging isn’t your thing, that’s cool.  As long as you take the final trade into consideration, it is totally your call.

Thanks to everyone who took home a bottle of vermouth!  Here’s the recipe for a Manhattan – Cheers!

Manhattan

Manhattan

2 oz. rye whiskey or bourbon

1 oz. sweet vermouth

a dash or two of bitters

1 cherry (track down Amarena cherries for heaven in a glass) with a smidgen of the syrup

Stir it up, and add a couple ice cubes.  Happy Friday!

One thought on “Did you hear we had a food swap?

  1. After reading this, I think I need to make a Manhattan from your lovely Sweet Vermouth which I swaped you for! If this batch was not as good as the first put me on the list for more next swap! 🙂

Leave a Reply

