Market Demo Chef Recipes – June 1st

Erin Molnar, Program Assistant

I presented our first canning demonstration of the season on Saturday. I focused on pickling spring root veg – once these guys start plumping up, you are ready to start your preservation season.

I pre-made some radish relish, so that there would be something to sample. Think pickle relish, but with radishes. It was super easy – minus the fact that when I went to make it, I realized that I was missing a part to my food processor and had to shred the radishes by hand…

The recipe is from Put ‘Em Up! by Sherri Brooks. I mentioned it during my demo as one of my go-to resources. It has great basic information and easy to follow instructions, and it covers a wide variety of produce that you might want to preserve. Put ‘Em Up!: Fruit was just released – I have requested it from the library, and can’t wait until it comes in.

Radish Relish 

  • 2 cups distilled white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon whole coriander
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seed
  • 1 tablespoon yellow mustard seeds
  • 2 pounds radishes, shredded
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 1 (2-inch) knob ginger, peeled and grated (I used 1 tablespoon of dried ginger.)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Combine the vinegar, sugar, salt, coriander, cumin and mustard in a large non-reactive saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the radishes, onion, ginger and garlic and return to a boil, stirring to ensure that all ingredients are heated through. Remove from heat.

Fill jars and either allow to cool and store in refrigerator for up to 3 weeks, or water bath can.

For my demonstration, I prepared pickled carrots. I adapted this recipe from Seattle Seedling that I found through Punk Domestics (which is a great resource for preserving recipes).

Cumin Pickled Carrots

  • 3 pounds carrots, quartered
  • 1 green garlic, minced, divided between jars
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds, per jar
  • 4-5 whole cloves, per jar
  • 6 cups white vinegar
  • 2 cups distilled water
  • 1/2 cup pickling salt

Add the vinegar and water to a non-reactive pan and bring to a boil. Once boiling, add the salt and stir to dissolve. Turn the heat down and maintain at a gentle boil.

Add 1 teaspoon of cumin seeds and 2 teaspoons mustard seeds to each clean and warm jar. Fill each jar with prepared carrots, leaving 1/2 inch head space.

Ladle hot brine into each jar, pushing floating carrots down as needed, to ensure they’re covered. Make sure there’s 1/2 inch head space still, now that the brine has been added.

Cool and refrigerate, or water-bath can.

Feel free to post any questions you have.

I hope you will join us for our next canning demo, July 6th, 9:30 am.

Leave a Reply

